DIY

Heating Pad

So…. Every month there’s always about one week of crippling pain that enters a woman’s life. I’m sure you all know where I’m going with this. Well, last week was that week for me. I could barely move, was bound to my couch, I missed classes and work. I got to thinking and realized “Hey I don’t have a heating pad!” With a little determination and curiosity I headed to pinterest to see what I should do…. And then it hit me. I had just gotten a beautiful brand new sewing machine for Christmas and have not been able to do much with it yet. I scrolled around for what seemed to be far too long. I finally came to the decision that I needed to combine a few different pins to achieve what I needed.

Here’s what I came up with, a lovely heating pad made by hand. I actually made two, because I loved it so much.

This is how I did it!

Supplies:

  • Scissors Sewing machine
  • Measuring board
  • Fat quarter of muslin
  • Fat quarter of cute pattern of your choice. Cotton is best.
  • 2lbs of dried rice (give or take)
  • 5 drops of Lavender essential oil (optional)

wp-image-40678604jpg.jpg

Rice and Lavender mixture:

In a bowl mix together rice and lavender, set aside until inset is sewn.

Rice insert:

Cut the muslin into two 7×14 pieces

wp-image-1172631344jpg.jpg

Sew along 3 sides, leaving room to fill the bag with the rice and lavender mixture.

wp-image-1722545771jpg.jpg

Fold right side out.

wp-image-1103345100jpg.jpg

Fill with rice and lose up the hole and you have your insert finished!

wp-image-1821566902jpg.jpg

Now for the cover:

Cut the cute fabric into 3 pieces.

  1. 10×7
  2. 8×7
  3. 18×7

wp-image-1367509200jpg.jpg

Fold in 1/4 inch of one of the 7 inch sides of the 2 smaller pieces. Iron down to hold, then sew a nice fold down.

wp-image-229279873jpg.jpg

Line up the fabric inside out.

wp-image-1363911426jpg.jpg

Sew along all sides making sure you see through all 3 pieces when necessary.

Fold right side out and there you have it!

Now just stuff the rice insert into the cover and you’re done!wp-image-499078902jpg.jpg

wp-image-1192423113jpg.jpg

To heat, put in microwave for 30 seconds at a time until it is a desired heat.

If you like what you see but don’t have the tools or the time to make this and want to buy one from me, email Bellas.Boutique.Email@gmail.com and I will gladly set you up with one. They are all custom ordered. I can get nearly any printed fabric. Each heating pad will be sold for 15$ not including tax and shipping.

Leave a Reply

